MENU

Table of State Dog Tether Laws

<u>Share</u>

• Author: Rebecca F. Wisch

• Publish Year: 2016

Place of Publication: Michigan State University College of Law

• **Primary Citation:** Animal Legal & Historical Center

Summary:

This brief overview describes state laws that concern the tethering or chaining of dogs. It also includes a table of those state laws dealing with tethering with links to the text of the laws.

"In which states is it illegal to chain or tether your dog?"

Tethering or chaining a dog under most state laws means that a person ties a dog with a rope or line to a stationary object. While the laws themselves vary from state to state, they do have several consistent features. Some laws that address tethering allow a dog to be tethered for a reasonable period of time. California prohibits tethering a dog to a stationary object, but allows a dog to be tethered "no longer than is necessary for the person to complete a temporary task that requires the dog to be restrained for a reasonable period." Connecticut makes it illegal for a dog to be confined or tethered for an unreasonable period of time. What constitutes an "unreasonable period" is not defined by statute in Connecticut. However, Texas law states that a reasonable period is one that does not exceed three hours in a 24-hour period, and is "no longer than is necessary for the owner to complete a temporary task that requires the dog to be restrained."

Other states include tethering as part of their anti-cruelty chapters. Indiana defines "neglect" as restraining an animal for more than a brief period in a manner that endangers the animal's life or health by the use of a rope, chain, or tether. West Virginia and the District of Columbia include "cruelly chains" in its list of activities that constitute misdemeanor animal cruelty.

Some states specify the manner as to how a dog must be tethered or chained. For example, Delaware law provides that a tether shall be 6 feet or at least 3 times the length of the dog as measured from the tip of its nose to the base of its tail. Likewise, Indiana and Michigan also require that the tether be three times the length of the dog. Many states require that the tether allow the dog unencumbered access to food, water, and shelter. States that do allow some form of tethering usually require that the tethering must be done in a manner that does not endanger the dog's welfare.

The table below provides a summary of each state law that addresses tethering. A link is provided in the citation that goes to the actual text of the law.

State	Citation and Link	Summary of Law	Penalty
Alabama			
Alaska			
Arizona			
Arkansas			
California	West's Ann. Cal. Health	No person shall tether, fasten, chain, tie, or restrain a dog to any dog house, tree, fence,	Infraction or misdemeanor
	<u>& Safety</u>	or other stationary object.	Animal control may issue a warning
	Code §		to a person who violates this
	122335	A person may temporarily tether a dog "no	chapter, requiring the owner to
		longer than is necessary for the person to	correct the violation, in lieu of an
		complete a temporary task."	infraction or misdemeanor, unless
			the violation endangers the health
			or safety of the animal, or the
			animal has been wounded as a
			result of the activity.
Colorado			
Connecticut	<u>C.G.S.A. §§</u>	No person shall tether a dog to a stationary	Fine of no more than \$100 for 1st
	<u>22-350a</u>	object or to a mobile device, including, but	offense
		not limited to, a trolley or pulley by means	
		of:	\$100-250 for 2 nd offense
			\$250-500 for any subsequent
			offenses

- A tether that does not allow such dog
 to walk at least eight feet, excluding
 the length of such dog as measured
 from the tip of such dog's nose to the
 base of such dog's tail, in any one
 direction.
- a tether that does not have swivels on both ends to prevent twisting and tangling, unless a person is in the presence of such dog,
- a coat hanger, choke collar, prong-type collar, head halter or any other collar, halter or device that is not specifically designed or properly fitted for the restraint of such dog,
- 4. a tether that has weights attached or that contains metal chain links more than one-quarter of an inch thick, or
- 5. a tether that allows such dog to reach an object or hazard, including, but not limited to, a window sill, edge of a pool, fence, public road or highway, porch or terrace railing that poses a risk of injury or strangulation to such dog if such dog walks into or jumps over such object or hazard, unless a person is in the presence of such dog.

Also prohibits tethering dog outdoors to a stationery object or to a mobile device (i.e., trolley or pulley) when a weather advisory or warning is issued by authorities, or when outdoor conditions (extreme heat, cold, wind, rain, snow or hail) pose an adverse risk to the health or safety of particular dog unless tethering is for a duration of not longer than fifteen minutes.

Delaware

9 Del.C. § 904 Law addresses the design of a tether:

- Outdoor dog houses: tethers shall be attached so that dog cannot become entangled with other objects or come into physical contact with other dogs
- Tether shall be 6 feet long or at least 3 times the length of the dog
- Must allow the dog convenient access to dog house and to food and water

D.C.

DC Code § 22.1001

"Cruelly chains" means attaching an animal to a stationary object or a pulley by means of a chain, rope, tether, leash, cable, or similar restraint under circumstances that may endanger its health, safety, or well-being.

Imprisonment up to 180 days and/or fine up to \$250

Cruelly chains includes a tether that:

- Causes the animal to choke
- Does not permit the animal to reach food, water, shade, dry ground
- Does not permit the animal to escape harm

Florida

Georgia

Hawaii

HRS § 711-1109

A person commits the offense of cruelty to animals in the second degree if the person intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly tethers, fastens, ties, or restrains a dog to a doghouse, tree, fence, or any other stationary object by means of a choke collar, pinch collar, or prong collar.

Misdemeanor offense results in forfeiture of animal and reimbursement for costs incurred for care of animal

Idaho

Illinois

510 ILCS

70/3

70/3 (b) To lawfully tether a dog outdoors, an owner must ensure that the dog:

- (e) A person convicted of violating subsection (b) of this Section is guilty of a Class B misdemeanor.
- (1) does not suffer from a condition that is known, by that person, to be exacerbated by tethering;
- (2) is tethered in a manner that will prevent it from becoming entangled with other tethered dogs;
- (3) is not tethered with a lead that (i) exceeds one-eighth of the dog's body weight or (ii) is a tow chain or a log chain;
- (4) is tethered with a lead that measures, when rounded to the nearest whole foot, at least 10 feet in length;
- (5) is tethered with a properly fitting harness or collar other than the lead or a pinch, prong, or choke-type collar; and
- (6) is not tethered in a manner that will allow it to reach within the property of another person, a public walkway, or a road.

Indiana

I.C.§ 35-46-

3-.05

"Neglect" means restraining an animal for more than a brief period in a manner that endangers the animal's life or health by the use of a rope, chain, or tether that: Not specifically listed

- is too heavy
- causes the animal to choke

- is less than 3x the length of the animal
- seriously endangers the animal's life or health

Iowa			
Kansas			
Kentucky			
Louisiana	LSA-R.S. 14:102.26	It shall be unlawful to tie, tether, or restrain any animal in a manner that is inhumane, cruel, or detrimental to its welfare.	Violation: fine up to \$300
Maine	7 M. R. S. A. § 3971	Unlawful to tie, tether or restrain any animal in a manner that is inhumane or detrimental to its welfare	Civil violation: forfeiture up to \$100
Maryland	MD Code, Criminal Law.§ 10- 623	A person may not leave a dog outside and unattended by use of a restraint that unreasonably limits the movement of the dog;	Misdemeanor subject to imprisonment not exceeding 90 days or a fine not exceeding \$1,000 or both
		Or one that uses a collar that: • is made primarily of metal	
		 is not at least as large as the circumference of the dog's neck plus 1 inch 	
		 that restricts the access of the dog to suitable and sufficient clean water or appropriate shelter 	
		• in unsafe or unsanitary conditions	
		 that causes injury to the dog 	
Massachusetts	M.G.L.A. 140 § 174E	No person owning or keeping a dog shall chain or tether a dog to a stationary object including, but not limited to, a structure, dog	1st offense: issued a written warning or punished by a fine of not more than \$50

house, pole or tree for longer than 24 consecutive hours.

The tether used must not allow the dog to leave the owner's, guardian's or keeper's property.

Tether must be designed for dogs (no logging chains or other lines or devices not designed for tethering dogs).

No chain or tether shall weigh more than 1/8 of the dog's body weight.

No dog under the age of 6 months shall be tethered outside for any length of time.

A trolley system or a tether attached to a pulley in a cable run is allowed provided listed conditions are met.

No person owning or keeping a dog shall subject the dog to cruel conditions or inhumane chaining or the tethering at any time (i.e., exposure to filth, taunting or harassing tethered dog, or subjecting dog to dangerous conditions like animal attacks).

2nd offense: a fine of not more than \$100

3rd or subsequent offense: a fine of not more than \$300, and subject to impoundment of the dog in a local shelter at the owner's or guardian's expense pending compliance with this section, or loss of ownership of the dog.

Michigan

M.C.L. § 750.50

An owner, possessor, or person having custody shall not tether a dog unless the tether is at least 3 times the length of the dog and is attached to a harness or nonchoke collar designed for tethering.

1 animal: 93 days imprisonment and/or \$1,000 fine (misdemeanor)

2 or 3 animals or the death of an animal: 1 year/\$2,000 fine (misdemeanor)

4-10 animals or at least one previous conviction: 2 years/\$2,000 fine (felony)

10 or more animals: 4 years/\$5,000 fine (felony)

Minnesota			
Mississippi			
Missouri			
Montana			
Nebraska			
Nevada	N.R.S. 574.100	A person shall not restrain a dog using a tether, chain, tie, trolley, or pulley system that:	1st offense: misdemeanorcity or county jail for 2 days to 6 months
		• is less than 12 ft. in length	
		 fails to allow the dog to move at least 12 ft. 	 perform 48 - 120 hours community service
			• fine: \$200-1,000
		 allows the dog to reach a fence or other object in which it could become entangled 	2nd offense: jail time from 10 days 6 months with increased fines and service.
		 uses a prong, pinch, or choke collar 	3rd or subsequent offense: felony
		• for more than 14 hrs. in a 24-hr. period	
New Hampshire			
New Jersey			
New Mexico			
New York			
North Carolina	N.C.G.S.A.§ 362.3	A person who maliciously restrains a dog using a chain or wire grossly in excess of the size necessary to restrain the dog safely violates this law.	Class 1 misdemeanor
		For purposes of this section, "maliciously" means the person imposed the restraint	

intentionally and with malice or bad motive.

North Dakota			
Ohio			
Oklahoma			
Oregon	<u>ORS</u>	In 2013, the state enacted a new law called	Penalty under Unlawful Tethering
	§ 167.343	"Unlawful Tethering."	Law:
			Unlawful tethering is a Class B
	ORS §	A person commits the offense of unlawful	violation.
	<u>167.325</u>	tethering if the person tethers a domestic	
		animal in the person's custody or control:	Penalty under Animal Neglect in the
	ORS §		Second Degree:

(a) With a tether that is not a reasonable length given the size of the domestic animal and available space and that allows the domestic animal to become entangled in a manner that risks the health or safety of the domestic animal;

- (b) With a collar that pinches or chokes the domestic animal when pulled;
- (c) For more than 10 hours in a 24-hour period; or
- (d) For more than 15 hours in a 24-hour period if the tether is attached to a running line, pulley or trolley system.

Note that if the tethering causes physical injury or death, a person can be charged with animal neglect in the first or second degree (see next column).

Under 167.325, a person commits the crime of animal neglect in the second degree if he or she intentionally, knowingly, recklessly or with criminal negligence tethers a domestic animal in the person's custody or control and the tethering results in physical injury to the domestic animal.

Animal neglect in the second degree is a Class B misdemeanor

Animal neglect in the second degree is a Class C felony if:

- (a) The person committing the offense has previously been convicted of two or more offenses under this section, ORS 167.330 or the equivalent laws of another jurisdiction;
- (b) The offense was part of a criminal episode involving 11 or more animals; or

167.330

(c) The person knowingly commits the offense in the immediate presence of a minor child and the person has one or more previous convictions for an offense involving domestic violence.

Penalty under Animal Neglect in the First Degree:

Under 167.330, a person commits the crime of animal neglect in the first degree if the person intentionally, knowingly, recklessly or with criminal negligence tethers a domestic animal in the person's custody or control and the tethering results in serious physical injury or death to the domestic animal.

Animal neglect in the first degree is a Class A misdemeanor.

Animal neglect in the first degree is a Class C felony if:

- (a) The person committing the offense has previously been convicted of one or more offenses under this section, ORS 167.325 or the equivalent laws of another jurisdiction;
- (b) The offense was part of a criminal episode involving 10 or more animals; or
- (c) The person knowingly commits the offense in the immediate presence of a minor child.

Pennsylvania

Rhode Island

Gen. Laws. 1956, § 4-13-42 It is a violation for an owner or keeper to:

- Keep any dog on a permanent tether that restricts movement of the tethered dog to an area less than one hundred thirteen square feet (113 sq. ft.), or less than a six foot (6') radius at ground level.
- 2. Tether a dog with a choke-type collar or prong-type collar.
- Keep any dog tethered for more than ten (10) hours during a twenty-four (24) hour period or keep any dog confined in a pen, cage or other shelter for more than fourteen (14) hours during any twenty-four (24) hour period.

Any person in violation of this section shall be given a warning for a first violation. Second and subsequent violations of this subsection can be considered a violation of § 4-1-2. Each day of violation shall constitute a separate offense.

Any person in violation of this section shall be imprisoned not exceeding eleven (11) months, or fined not less than fifty dollars (\$50.00) nor exceeding five hundred dollars (\$500), or both. Each day of violation shall constitute a separate offense.

_		_	
SOI	ıth	Caro	lına

South Dakota

Tennessee

T. C. A. § 39-14-202 Offense to knowingly tie, tether, or restrain a dog in a manner that results in the dog suffering bodily injury.

1st offense: Class A misdemeanor

2nd or subsequent conviction: Class

E felony

Texas

TX HEALTH

<u>& S §</u>

<u>821.076 -</u>

081

Owner may not leave a dog outside and unattended by use of a restraint that unreasonably limits the dog's movement during certain times of day or during extreme weather

Class C misdemeanor

Class B misdemeanor if previously convicted

A restraint unreasonably limits a dog's movement if the restraint is a length shorter than the greater of 5x the length of the dog or 10 feet.

https://www.animallaw.info/topic/table-state-dog-tether-laws

Wyoming

Share |

Full Site Search

- Site Information
- Contact Us
- Make a donation
- Home

© 2016 Michigan State University College of Law. This site is not a law firm and cannot offer legal advice.